I was in a meeting earlier today and found myself making the case for social media solutions in small businesses.  Unprepeared for the question, I floundered around for a while before settling on the following points:

1. In businesses where word of mouth generates a significant amount of business, social media offers a massive expansion of potential proponents for the business.

2. Social media builds trust. If a company’s advertising is backed up by the “buzz” the correlation between advertising / PR messages and “real,” ie, user generated messages will build a more trusting relationship between the company and its customers.

3. Social media communities grow around common interests, localities can be one of these, a virtual local community can build just as fast as a real one.

The issue is finding the web 2.0 literates in the area. One of the downsides of the massive growth in the sector is that at times, finding the local audiences can be like looking for a needle in a haystack.

Any solutions to this would be gratefully recieved.

Ps. thanks to Simon, who has been linking to me alot, I have been crap recently and not posted but this will be remedied. The tagging conversation still facinates me and I will post on it soon.

