I’m working on a joint project with a few other agencies and general PR “types” involved and I’ve just had had a press release returned by an ex journalist with some significant amends.

Looking at the release objectively it now reads much more like you’d expect it to read from the pages of a newspaper and I take my hat off to the skill of the guy who has polished it, but…

It’s made me start to think, when writing a release for a specific group of journalists should you try and write for them in a way that will provide them with as much information as possible and rely on their journalistic skill to turn the story into a finished piece? Or should you try and talk them in their language, apeing their style? 

I can see arguments for both sides but, lacking the ability to write like some journos do I’ll be sticking to the former. Worth a thought though. 

