I’ve just got back from a seminar on email marketing put on by the chaps from Communigator. I didn’t go because I wanted to find out more about email marketing. I don’t have the time, expertise, or infrastructure for a departure like that, but I was interested in how people developed channels of communication.

After a few hours of listening, revolutionary insights all stored up in my brain shaped head I mosied on back to the office, (is that how you spell mosey?) only to find that Collister (bah humbug) has once again thieved my thunder.

The presentation from communigator was genuinely impressive, but if you took the words “email marketing” out the entire section on content could easily have been a piece on blogging or any other kind of electronically delivered communications channel. It seems that despite the different channels, the fundamentals of communication don’t really change.

I have to admit that before today I thought of email marketing as just an online version of the leaflets that get stuffed into my mailbox and summarily discarded but I was dead wrong. Email can be just as communicative as what I had previously regarded as the more “real” conversations taking place in the blogosphere and through social networking sites. The only real difference is the mechanics of delivery and the context.

I get frustrated when I find myself blogging about new technology for new technology’s sake. Email is not a new technology. In fact, along with PR, Blogging, and bizarrely, Bill Gates it has been, on more than one occasion declared dead. What the presentation this

morning showed me was that actually, all technology, all systems, all methodologies are dead – right up until the point when someone brings them alive with a bit of creativity and thought.

Technorati tags: , , , ,
del.icio.us tags: , , , ,
